Inadvertent Ambiguity and NC State

My post regarding my Freedom of Information Request for North Carolina State University is here. I also posted the article on A Conservative Christian Man as well.

A Christian group sued because it was being asked to fill out a form t0 distribute literature on campus.  They won a temporary injunction, and will continue to sue to have access to the NC State Campus. I asked to see all of the forms which groups had filled out requesting to pass out literature.  The response was a very small number and some sections were blocked out. I requested an explanation.



 

Mr. Alexander:

First, student names/personal information and comments unrelated to the scope of your request (distributing literature) were redacted.
Second, your request specified literature distribution. Only those records were provided. So you may have inadvertently narrowed the scope of your request. The numbers in Chancellor Woodson’s statement include more than just literature distribution requests.
Hope that makes sense.


My new request:

Dear Mr. Kulikowski,
In am requesting again information regarding on campus activities.  My previous request resulted in a very small collection of the public records for on campus activities.  As you state in your email, I may have inadvertently narrowed my search. 
Under the North Carolina Public Records Law, G.S. §132-1., I am requesting an opportunity to inspect or obtain copies of public records which relate to NC State Policy 07.25.12, specifically all requests submitted  for on campus activities.  It is our understanding that students and others must submit requests, and it is our assumption that these requests have been retained.
I am requesting all facilities use agreement forms which were filled out under the policies described on this NC State webpage:
If there are any fees for searching or copying these records, please inform me if the cost will exceed $ 20.00.   I would also like to request a waiver of all fees in that the disclosure of the requested information is in the public interest and will contribute significantly to the public’s understanding of the policies of the university regarding free expression.  
 As I noted in previous communications, Chancellor Woodson stated that more than 2200 such requests were filled out over the last three years.  My request is the subset of requests for the academic year 2015-2016.  
Thank you for your time,
Dave Alexander



I’ve tried to eliminate any potential ambiguity.  But I remain dubious about the inadvertent ambiguity.  Yeah, I’m not giving up.

I don’t think that Christian groups have been targeted for this policy, but if it turns out that many groups on campus have NOT had to fill out a form, then the policy wasn’t being applied fairly.  I simply want the information to make that determination.

 

 

Inadvertent Ambiguity and NC State

Leave a Reply

