Another Preacher Who Needs to Reread the New Testament

Before we begin:

 

But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be children of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. Luke 6:35

I don’t consider anyone my enemy.  I know some folks who I don’t like, but yes, I’d offer them help without expecting anything back.

Gay people are not my enemy.  They are fellow sinners.

NBCDFW.com (a north Texas TV station)

In Fort Worth on Sunday, dozens of LGBT activists and North Texas residents took to Jacksboro Highway to protest the controversial comments of a pastor of a small church.

Sansom Park Police, Fort Worth Police, Tarrant County Sheriff’s deputies, and even MedStar Ambulance service were present, in case the protest or any counter protest turned ugly or if anyone was overwhelmed by the heat.

Armed with signs, songs, and chants, the group expressed their displeasure with the hateful speech of a Stedfast Baptist Church Pastor Donnie Romero.

Pastor Romero said he agrees with Pastor Roger Jimenez, featured here.

“I agree 100-percent with Pastor Roger Jimenez,” Romero says in his sermon posted to YouTube. “These 50 sodomites are all perverts and pedophiles, they’re the scum of the Earth and the Earth is a better place now and I’ll take it a step further.”

Romero uses several gay slurs and then talks about those injured in the nightclub shooting. “I’ll pray to God like I did this morning, and I will again tonight, that God will finish the job that that man started,” Romero said. 

“That man,” I think is Omar Mateen, who killed 49 people for the crime of being in a gay nightclub.

What can we do? Two men who preach hate, but say they are with Christ. I say we pray for them.

I think I found my enemies.

Another Preacher Who Needs to Reread the New Testament

Leave a Reply

